Cedar Shoals, CMS/Hilsman Student Teams Win State, National Honors for Energy Education Projects

NEEDThe Cedar Shoals Energy Education Team (CSEET) and the combined Science, Energy and Adventure Team (SEAT) from Clarke and Hilsman middle schools have both been honored with state and national awards for their energy education and conservation projects.

The Cedar Shoals student club, under the direction of teacher Brittany Blumenstock, was selected as the 2022 Georgia Senior School of the Year and National Senior School of the Year by the National Energy Education Development (NEED) Project for its project, “The Three Es: Energy Education Environment.” The club focuses on environmental education and conservation in the community.

Meanwhile, the combined middle school team, under CMS teacher Audrey Hughes and Hilsman teacher Laura McGreevy, was named the 2022 Georgia Junior School of the Year and National Junior School of the Year for its project, “Preserve, Protect, & Power Through.” Hughes’ CMS students also won the national award in 2021, and the Hilsman SEAT team earned Georgia School of the Year and National School of the Year recognition in 2019 when she taught at HMS and oversaw that program. The teams at CMS and Hilsman were able to join forces this year and enter the national STEM competition as a combined unit.

Hughes said that, in her 20 years working with the NEED Project, no school district has ever won national-level awards at the two levels (junior and senior) in the same year.

Both groups have been invited to attend the NEED Youth Energy Conference and be recognized for their awards next month in Washington, D.C.