FFE Announces 2022 Teaching and Staff Awards

The Clarke County School District wishes to thank the Foundation for Excellence in Public Education in Clarke County, Georgia (FFE) for recognizing our teachers and staff with its 2022 teaching and staff awards.

The FFE is a nonprofit whose mission is to encourage, recognize, and reward excellence in the Clarke County School District. Donations and income from its endowment are put to work through classroom grants and various awards, as the organization provides approximately $45,000 annually in grants and awards to CCSD teachers, administrators, support staff, and students annually. 

FFE representatives spent Thursday morning, July 28, traveling across the district to present the 2022 awards, which carry with them a combined $17,000, to 15 teachers and staff members at six of our schools who were nominated by their colleagues, parents, and community members. 

Winners included:

Frieda M. Thomas Teacher of Promise Awards

Levi Carr, Clarke Central High School

William Lowe, Cedar Shoals High School

Bertis Downs District Services Awards

Lashanda Callaway, Hilsman Middle School

Margaret Smith, Howard B. Stroud Elementary School

Howard B. Stroud Community Service Award

Hannah Nelson, Howard B. Stroud Elementary

Michael Peter Horvat Secondary Coaches’ Award

Josh Campbell, Cedar Shoals High School

Friends of Eve Carson Excellence in Teaching Award

Janice Stephen, Howard B. Stroud Elementary

Newland Family Foundation Excellence in Teaching Award

Lauren Benbrook, Howard B. Stroud Elementary

Walter Allen, Sr. Inspiring Teacher Award

Marc Ginsberg, Cedar Shoals High School

Galis Family Award for Teachers of History and Social Studies

Andrew Wheeler, Clarke Central High School

Frusanna S. Booth Chair for Teachers of English and Language Arts

Jennifer Tesler, Clarke Central High School

Charlotte Brown Chair for Teachers of Special Education

Charissa Swan, Clarke Middle School

Lamar Dodd Chair for Teachers of Fine Arts

Rosemary Milsap, Cedar Shoals High School

Jenny Penney Oliver Chair for Counselors and Student Support Personnel

Lauren McElhannon, David C. Barrow Elementary School

Margaret & Raymond Ponsoldt Chair for Elementary School Teachers

Bertina Hunt, Howard B. Stroud Elementary School

More Information including the history of each of these awards as well as information about the FFE classroom grants can be found on the organization’s website at www.athensffe.org

Congratulations to all of these deserving and dedicated CCSD employees, and thank you again to the FFE for your tireless efforts and support of public education in Athens-Clarke County!