FFE Announces 2023 Classroom Grant Winners

The Foundation for Excellence in Public Education in Clarke County has announced the winners of its 2023 classroom grants and is awarding a combined $10,000 to 18 teachers for classroom initiatives around CCSD. 

Starting in August, the foundation invited CCSD teachers and staff to apply for various grants to be used directly with students. The winners were selected from among more than 100 applications, which were evaluated by a volunteer panel of judges. You can find the winners listed below and read more about each grant here

Jimmy Morris Memorial Fine Arts Grant

  • 35 mm Project: Amanda Price - Clarke Central High School
  • GA Thespian Conference: Rosemary Milsap - Cedar Shoals High School

Eve Carson Service Learning Grant

  • International Studies Unit: Crystal Adams - Gaines Elementary School

Carol Ann Colquitt Special Education Grant

  • Sensory Garden: Erika Douglas - Oglethorpe Avenue Elementary

Todd Cooper Memorial Grant for Technology & Equipment

  • Graphing Calculators: Kwesi Yankey - Coile Middle School

Sara Orton Glickman Collaborative Project Based Learning Grant

  • HMS Integration Mural: Katie Johnson - Hilsman Middle School

Lane Turner Norton Literacy Grant

  • Story Walk: Charlene Woodham-Brickman - Alps Road Elementary

C.B. Lord Founders’ General Classroom Grant

  • Sphero Mini Robots: Blake Lewis - Whit Davis Elementary School

Mary & Harold Horton General Classroom Grant for Elementary School Teachers

  • Theme Park Design Challenge: Jennifer Biddle - Whit Davis Elementary School

Jenny Penney Oliver General Classroom Grant

  • CSHS Business Library: Megan Ogden - Cedar Shoals High School

Dr. Marty Carter Elementary Grant for Exceptional Children

  • High Interest Book Collection: Linda Christensen - J.J. Harris Elementary School

Publix Charities General Classroom Grant

  • Map Literacy: Garrett Walker - Cedar Shoals High School

Arthur Moog Middleton Writing Grant for High School Teachers

  • Adapted Special Education Writing: William Lowe - Cedar Shoals High School
  • History Writing Collaboration: Mars McCarley - Classic City High School

Friends of Eve Carson General Classroom Grant

  • Science Fair: Carter Johnson - Hilsman Middle School
  • Sublimation Kit: Nestor Domingo - Clarke Central High School
  • Cedar Readers: Kerry Hogan - Cedar Shoals High School

Carrie Fischer Siegmund Grant for Classroom Innovation

  • Creative Agriculture: Chasity Tompkins - Coile Middle School.