School Zone Speed Detection Cameras Installed

Athens-Clarke County’s new school zone speed safety cameras will capture images of vehicles that speed through school zones for the next 30 days. The Athens-Clarke County Police Department (ACCPD) will issue warnings during the 30-day period to the registered owner of any vehicle that is photographed passing through the school zone in excess of the posted speed limit.

There will be no fines associated with the warnings; however, a speeding violation will carry a fine of $75 for first-time offenders after the 30-day warning period ends. Subsequent offenses will result in a $125 fine. Signs are in place to alert drivers that the school zone is a photo enforcement area, and the cameras will only be operational when the beacons are flashing.

School zone speed safety cameras are installed near the following schools:

  • Barnett Shoals Elementary
  • JJ Harris Elementary
  • Whitehead Elementary