Clarke County FFE Announces 2022 Student Awards

FFEThe Foundation for Excellence in Public Education in Clarke County (FFE), a longstanding partner of the Clarke County School District, recently announced its 2022 student awards, which were presented in May. 

Every year, the Foundation for Excellence awards more than $4,000 to CCSD high school juniors and seniors who are chosen by school administrators and presented with their awards during their end-of-year awards ceremonies. 

Here are the 2022 winners:

The Gregg W. Lewis Scholar-Athlete Awards

Clarke Central High School - Gretchen Hinger

Cedar Shoals High School - Jacob Weiszer


Cedar Shoals High School - Emma Rentz

Clarke Central High School - Cullen Brunner

The Arthur Moog Middleton Writing Awards for High School Juniors

Clarke Central High School - Antonio Starks

Cedar Shoals High School - Ikeoluwa Ojo

The Charlotte and Claude Williams American History Awards

Clarke Central High School - Josephine Tunis

Cedar Shoals High School - Aiden Dowling

The Marge Schneider Science Awards

Clarke Central High School - Ludwig Lechtreck

Cedar Shoals High School - Ariana Duarte

The Eve Carson Humanitarian Spirit Awards

Clarke Central High School - Zalil Gantt

Cedar Shoals High School - Kori Edmonds


Along with the high school winners, the FFE also announced the Eve Carson Humanitarian Spirit Awards for each of CCSD’s elementary and middle schools. Established in 2009 in honor of the late Eve Marie Carson, a 2004 Clarke Central graduate, the awards are given to one student in the exiting class of each elementary, middle, and high school (grades 5, 8, and 12) who best exemplify the qualities that were exhibited by Eve during her brief lifetime. 

High school winners Zalil Gantt (Clarke Central) and Kori Edmonds (Cedar Shoals) received $500, while eighth-grade winners received a $100 gift card and fifth-grade winners received a $50 gift card.

Elementary School Winners

Alps Road Elementary - Shacori Cooper

Barnett Shoals Elementary - Taylor Dean

David C. Barrow Elementary - Jayda Mueller

Chase Street Elementary - Anna Jo Dunlop

Cleveland Road Elementary - Amy Pinto-Alvear

Fowler Drive Elementary - Kylie Linares-Guerra

Gaines Elementary - Lyric Johnson

J.J. Harris Elementary - Eva Villafana-Estrada

Oglethorpe Avenue Elementary - Lucille King

Howard B. Stroud Elementary - Ruth Kirkham

Timothy Road Elementary - Victoria Mauldin

Whit Davis Elementary - Abby Green

Whitehead Road Elementary - Darwin Gutierrez-Martinez

Winterville Elementary - Thomas Field

Middle School Winners

Burney-Harris-Lyons Middle - Doan Duong

Clarke Middle - Triston Thomas

W.R. Coile Middle - Joseph Gray

Hilsman Middle - Lexie Holliday