Board of Education

  • BOE group photo January 2024The nine-member Clarke County Board of Education (BOE) is the official governing body for the Clarke County School District. It is responsible for policy-making, budget approval, evaluation of the superintendent, and other duties prescribed by law. Board members are elected to four-year terms. To contact a BOE member, use the "Board Members" dropdown menu below.

    Please get in touch with the appropriate Clarke County School District office or school for information on a specific issue (such as school registration, disciplinary hearings, or employment). The school district's main number is 706-546-7721. 

    For board administration questions, contact:

    Lisa Palmer
    Executive Assistant to the Superintendent/Board Manager
    706-546-7721, Ext. 79201

    Meeting Schedule

    Click here for the 2024 board meeting schedule. The meetings are held in the Vernon Payne Meeting Hall at the CCSD District Office, located at 595 Prince Ave., Athens. Meetings are also live-streamed and available for on-demand viewing on the CCSD YouTube channel

    Public Comments at Board Meetings

    • The deadline to sign up to speak at a regular BOE meeting is 4 p.m. on the day of the meeting.
    • To sign up, please call Lisa Palmer at 706-546-7721, Ext. 79201.
    • Members of the public must provide their name, place of residence, contact information, and speaking topic.

    BOE District Map

BOE Members

  • District 1 - Heidi Hensley

  • District 2 - Claudia Butts

  • District 3 - Linda Davis

  • District 4 - Dr. Patricia Yager

  • District 5 - Tim Denson

  • District 6 - Dr. Mumbi Anderson (Board President)

  • District 7 - Dr. LaKeisha Gantt

  • District 8 - Nicole Hull, J.D.

  • District 9 - Mark Evans (Board Vice President)